Book Review: Specular (Scion Saga, Book 3)

Specular (Scion Saga, Book 3)
by Calix Leigh-Reign
RATING:
⭐️⭐️✨

The Descendants have grownup a bit and big changes are on the horizon in this third book in the Scion Saga. The pacing in the first half of the book felt a little slow, and I would have liked to see a bit more tension building for what happens in the middle of this book.

It’s literally an out of the world plot turn, followed by a lot of information. My head was spinning and I had to re-read a few passages because there was just so much being fed to me. I’m terrible with names in real life, so the info dump was a bit overwhelming.

I think Book 3 could have really been divided into two books, as we see some pretty intense training and cultural shifts in the second of the book that I would have really loved to see fleshed out more.

Carly remained our steadfast, loyal gal, with a pure heart while we encountered new equally powerful characters. Adam took a bit of a step back from the main focus, which I liked since I’m still not his biggest fan.

I do wish the second half of the book had more content, as it seemed very rushed. There wasn’t enough tension for me, so I felt a bjt disconnected to the story.

The series ended in a way that ties up some loose ends and gives you a sense of finality, however there was just enough of a taste that could lead to another storyline sprouting from this one.

Thank you to the author, publisher and LBT for my copy. Overall rating ⭐️⭐️✨/5

About the Book

In the long-awaited and highly-anticipated third installment of the Amazon bestselling Scion Saga Series, Carly abandons her innocence to progress into a mature young adult. Amidst a succession of changes, an unlikely ally will not only reveal the origin of the Descendants, but also the Iksha’s. Believing the Iksha has been their worst enemy for a millennium, the Descendants discover a more lethal force. Specular unveils a realm of history, exposing secrets, confirming truths, breaking old bonds, and forming new ones.

Published by CorinneAnderson

Writer. Editor. Reader. What else is there?

Leave a comment